The Foundation's means derive from the estate of Stanley Thomas Johnson and his wife Mrs. Mary June Johnson.

Prtrait Mr. JohnsonStanley Thomas Johnson was born in 1910 in Godalming, Surrey, in the south of England. In the year 1936, the young technician decided to specialize in riveting technology, particularly in the motor and aircraft industries. Stanley Thomas Johnson developed the «blind rivet» which enabled metal plates to be riveted, that is, fastened together. At the outbreak of the war in 1939, he built his main production plant in Welwyn Garden City, outside London. Under the name AVDEL, other plants were opened in the USA, Germany, Mexico and South Africa. A global network ensured for sales, also providing an advisory service.

In 1954, Stanley Thomas Johnson became domiciled in Switzerland, and lived in the town of Geneva. From here, he travelled all over the world. Sadly, he did not live to see the completion of some of his factories. In 1967, he died, aged 57, as a result of an illness lasting six years. His wife, Mary June Johnson, lost her life in an accident just two years later.

Prtrait Mr. JohnsonBoth were always very interested in the Arts, in science, and especially in the well-being of their fellow men and women. Stanley Thomas Johnson was concerned not only with the advancement of his employees in the riveting techniques, but also with human relations at their place of work. Again and again he spoke of his wish to give practical support to valuable and creative efforts in the arts, science, medicine, and in human relations. This wish was fulfilled by the setting up of the Foundation.

On the 21st May 1969, the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation, with charitable aims, was set up under Swiss Law. The Foundation's Charter is registered in the Canton of Berne. It operates under the relevant supervisory authority in Switzerland's Federal Department of Home Affairs. The foundation is a member of SwissFoundations, the association of Swiss grant-making foundations.

Les ressources de la Fondation proviennent de la fortune de Stanley Thomas Johnson et de sa femme, Mary June Johnson.

Prtrait Mr. JohnsonStanley Thomas Johnson est né en 1910 à Godalming, Surrey, dans le sud de l'Angleterre. Technicien de formation, il décide, en 1936, de se spécialiser dans la technique de fixation, plus spécialement pour l'industrie automobile et aéronautique. C'est à lui que l'on doit le rivet borgne, qui permet d'assembler des plaques métalliques. En 1939, il construit son centre de production à Welwyn Garden City, dans les environs de Londres, puis d'autres usines, toutes baptisées AVDEL, aux Etats-Unis, en Allemagne, au Mexique et en Afrique du Sud, créant ainsi un véritable réseau intercontinental de conseil et de vente.

En 1954, Stanley Thomas Johnson s'établit à Genève, d'où il parcourt le monde. Il meurt en 1967, après six ans de maladie, sans avoir pu assister à la mise sur le marché de ses dernières créations. Son épouse Mary June perd la vie deux ans plus tard dans un accident.

Prtrait Mr. JohnsonS. T. Johnson - tout comme sa femme d'ailleurs - s'intéressait beaucoup à l'art, à la science et, plus encore, au bien-être de l'homme. A commencer par celui de ses collaborateurs, en les encourageant à se perfectionner dans leur profession et en favorisant des rapports humains de qualité sur leur lieu de travail. La Fondation Stanley Thomas Johnson concrétise son souhait de toujours, à savoir de soutenir les efforts des créateurs dans le domaine des arts, de la science et de la médecine et de contribuer à améliorer les relations humaines. 
La Fondation Stanley Thomas Johnson, à but caritatif, a été constituée selon le droit suisse le 21 mai 1969. Ayant son siège à Berne, elle est soumise à l'autorité de surveillance des fondations du Département fédéral de l'intérieur. La fondation est membre de l'association des fondations donatrices suisses.